Soundtrack of My Life: “An American In Paris” by George Gershwin


My mother loved An American in Paris, the classic Gene Kelly musical with the Gershwin score. My parents’ record collection was heavy on the standards, so the work of Gershwin to this piano player was in the same vaunted highs as the Bach and Mendelssohn I was also required to know. Add the film’s gorgeous Technicolor images to it, though, and you get a childhood memory I love. My mother indulged my love for musicals because she loved them herself, and I continue to watch them regularly with my own daughters. As far as family traditions go, it’s the one we love the most.

Leave a Reply

