Soundtrack of my Life: “Two Tribes” by Frankie Goes To Hollywood


I can’t recall much about the show I saw it on – Julian Lennon was playing ” Too Late For Goodbyes”, that I can remember, because I was negotiating with my mother about staying up to watch his performance (full disclosure – I think that Valotte is a great 80s album). But somewhere sometime before that performance, there was a brief clip of Frankie Goes to Hollywood’s “Two Tribes” video. There I saw a Reagan impersonator (I knew who he was) and a Chernenko impersonator (I had no clue who he was at the time) fighting. Then came the ear biting and my delicate, sheltered self had a bit of a meltdown. As a result I had a hard time listening to the compilation album I had that the song was on. I did not do well with violent images.

Much later on, I grew to appreciate the political commentary and Trevor Horn’s glorious production flares, and it became one of my favourite anthems. But to me, the song always comes down to Reagan biting Chernenko’s ear.

Funny the things that stick in your head.

Leave a Reply

