Soundtrack of my Life: “What You Do To Me” by Teenage Fanclub


I discussed Teenage Fanclub’s Bandwagonesque here.

The lyrics are twenty-one words repeated over and over on top of a sunny melody, topped with grungy guitars. They were so Big Star that it hurt. It’s a juvenile love song- “What you do to me, I know, I can’t believe, there’s something about you that’s got me down on my knees”. It is so beautiful in its simplicity. It was one of the highlights of my 1991.

Not every song need to be deep to be meaningful. Some can just be shiny little power pop gems that make you feel what I can only assume is happy.

Leave a Reply

