Soundtrack of my Life: “Everybody Wants To Rule The World” by Tears for Fears


Some songs are just your favourite. They come to you while you’re young, and they never leave you. These are the songs that you love, without irony or cynicism.

“Everybody Wants To Rule The World” is one of those songs for me. It’s the type of love that makes you chase down an original Swiss edition of the 7-inch single because goddamnitsomuchyouhavetohaveit.

Yes, I did do that. It cost less than twenty dollars if you include shipping. I don’t care. Collecting things is what I do.

In stark contrast to the other big Songs From The Big Chair massive single, “Shout” (love that one, too), “Everybody Wants To Rule The World” is a freer, more cheerful song, which is countered by the pessimistic lyrics about war and control. But the song is just so damn catchy. I can’t resist it. I sing along every single time. I can picture the video in my head right now and I haven’t seen it in about twenty-five years. It’s marked on my soul. I was eight when Tears for Fears had their big moment, and I can remember so much from that year it sometimes scares me (1985- the year of Tears for Fears and Back To The Future!). The song continues to make me happy when I hear it, no matter who ends up covering it (Lorde, Ted Leo, hell, even the Glee version by Darren Criss was delightful). It’s never off my playlists, and I will never tire of it.

I’m giddy just thinking about the song and the linked video right now. I have so very few happy childhood memories, I guess I take them as they are when they do come along.

Leave a Reply

