Soundtrack of my Life: “One For My Baby (And One For the Road)” by Frank Sinatra


 

Frank is the guy I go to when my heart has been ripped out of my chest and mocked mercilessly by men, God, and just about anything and anyone else you can think of. While the go to album is In The Wee Small Hours, Frank’s ode to his crumbling relationship with Ava Gardiner, for a quick pity party I turn on “One for My Baby”. The appeal of this song is obvious- alcohol numbs so much emotional pain in this world. But it’s also the optics the song creates- a dark, dank little bar with minimal taps, cheap whisky, good jazz, and great atmosphere. When you are down and out and tears just won’t stop, there’s Frank and Joe, willing to listen. Sometimes, that’s all you can get.

 

Leave a Reply

