“I love you in a place where there’s no space and time.”


Give me a man with a piano, and I will show you devotion.

Leon Russell. He wrote some beautiful songs. He mentored Elton John. He tagged along with Joe Cocker, played with Delaney and Bonnie. He was a studio musician throughout the sixties, as part of the legendary Wrecking Crew. He played on Pet Sounds. That’s his piano on “This Diamond Ring” and “Gentle on My Mind”. He co-wrote “Superstar”. He wrote “A Song For You”. Reading his CV is like reading the history of rock and roll, frankly.

He’s always been one of my favourites. And in a week where I cried to the point where I couldn’t cry no more, I cried once again today.

God must be having one hell of a show up in heaven right now.

Godspeed, Leon.

Leave a Reply

