“I don’t want my life to imitate art, I want my life to be art.”


I have never seen Star Wars as a complete movie. I fall asleep, usually within half an hour, or I enter some bizarre trance and cannot recall seeing it at all. I’m aware of it, of course. My brothers are both fanatics, as most guys born between 1960 and 1985 are. I’d rather watch Star Trek.

So that’s out-of-the-way. Please keep death threats to yourself.

But I do love Carrie Fisher. Postcards from the Edge changed my life. It allowed me to see into a mind similar to my own. Her witty and truthful vocalizations of living with bipolar disorder were tremendously helpful as I was struggling to find someone- anyone- to tell me what the hell was wrong with me, and gave hope when treatment after treatment failed to garner me any stability. When she would appear on a chat show, I would eagerly watch. She always had a story, and was the Queen of self-deprecation. I loved her. Not for the same reasons everyone else did. But they were my reasons and they matter to me. She mattered to me.

