“Take chances, make mistakes. That’s how you grow. Pain nourishes your courage. You have to fail in order to practice being brave.”


I watched The Mary Tyler Moore Show long after it had left the air ( the show ended two months before I was born). It was at my maternal grandparents house over one summer. They had Nick At Nite on their cable package. I also watched some of The Dick Van Dyke show while I was there, but it was MTMS that captivated me. I saw the last episode and the first episode back to back on night and was dazzled on how they managed such consistency over seven years. I know “Chuckles Bites the Dust” was a season six episode, and it’s widely considered by TV people to be one of the funniest episodes of television ever.

I also remember seeing Ordinary People and thinking that her character was such an enormous bitch. That’s how good she was. She was sunny Mary Richards, devoted Laura Petrie, and the distant and broken Beth Jarrett and played them all with such style and grace.

She will be greatly missed.

